NVQ System

Framework | NVQ System | Levels | NVQ Assessment

  National Vocational Qualification System

Traditionally the primary and secondary schools are teaching according to nationally recognized curricula and conduct exams and award G.C.E. (O/L) and G.C.E. (A/L) certificates. Further, the bachelor degrees in Arts and Science, those awarded under the preview of UGC (University Grant Commission) that have equality and recognition; irrespective of universities. Nevertheless certificates and Diplomas those offered by the Public and Private vocational training institutions do not carry such status. As such, youths are in puzzle of selecting a quality programme to prosper their future as a carrier path. Similarly, at the recruitment, the employers are also in difficult stage to consider which certificate to accept and complying with Industry requirements.


Therefore Tertiary and Vocational Education Commission has taken steps to introduce a National Vocational Qualification System (NVQ) consisted with 7 Levels in collaboration with all Government Technical Education and Vocational Training Institutes and Skills Development Project presently as TEDP under the guidance of Ministry of Vocational and Technical Training. Many developed and developing countries have introduced vocational skill certification systems similar to that fifth NVQ system. At present such system is in real practice in those countries. As such international awareness on skills relating to NVQ certificate levels are prevailing in the manner as it is applicable for knowledge and skills. With regard to GCE (O/L) and GCE. (A/L). Therefore, National Vocational Qualification System could be considered as nationally and internationally recognized vocational certification system, which is a unified one.

  Implementation of the NVQ system  
  • NVQ System is implemented under a direct monitoring of Tertiary and Vocational Education Commission (TVEC)

  • Once the Occupation identifies to develop National Skill Standard by the TVEC, they inform NAITA Thereafter a group of industrial experts is nominated to prepare the draft National Skill Standard and seek public opinion for same.

  • The National Industrial Training Advisory committee, which is under the NAITA, will validate the respective National Skill Standard and the TVEC will endorse same as National Skill Standard for particular occupation.

  • Assessment for awarding of NVQ certificates will be conducted by a licensed assessor who trained by NITESL and registered by NAITA.

  • If the candidate is successful at the assessment and found competent, will issue respective NVQ certificate with the signatories of the Director General - TVEC and the Head of training institution.

  • For those who interested, the National Skill Standards will be available for reference at all carrier guidance centers and Learning Resource Utilization Centers those are under the Ministry of Vocational and Technical Training. The competencies required for respective NVQ levels are mentioned in the National Skin Standards.

  The routes of obtaining NVQ certificates  
  There are two routes to obtain NVQ certificates  
  1. If the candidate could prove his/her ability with adequate evidence of his/her competencies pertaining to qualifications stipulated in the Skills Standards, then the candidate is eligible to receive NVQ certificate through RPL. This is known as Recognition of Prior Learning.

  2. The other route of getting NVQ certificate is, by following a Competency Based Training (CBT) course relevant to the qualification which is accredited by the TVEC. The public Institution those conducting Competency Base Training courses are National Apprentice and Industrial Training Authority, Vocational Training Authority, National Youth Service Council or at a Technical College of Department of Technical Education and Training. There are private and NGO sector institutions where their courses conducted are accredited to issue NVQ certificates.

  Advantages of NVQ System  
    Advantages to NVQ certificate holders  
  • NVQ Certificate is not a training certificate. It is a certificate that certifies your skills. It is a Nationally recognized certificate that confirms, you possess skills up to the respective NVQ level in that occupation.

  • Career path to obtain qualifications in higher levels of this framework and gaining relevant skills on the basis of experience and competencies.

  • NVQ System is a skill evaluation system & has a high tendency for a foreign employment.

  • Since the Skill Standards are prepared with the contribution of professionally competent personnel in the industry, such skills are consisted with functions to be carried out in the Industry. Therefore, it is easier to seek jobs for NVQ certificate holders.

  • If NVQ certificate recipients are enthusiastic to gain higher qualifications; the system encourages upgrading their career development.

    Advantages to employers.  
  • As skills required for Industries are identified and consisted with skills those certified by NVQ system, it is the best fit to employ NVQ holders in their institutions.

  • NVQ Qualification could be used for the recruitment of technical hands for institutions, and also eligible for promotions and higher salaries etc.



For more information please visit: http://www.tvec.gov.lk
  • Top
  • Print